21 of 21 graduates in Tech jobs

So Ive not posted a blog for a couple of weeks. I have been super busy with other projects.  Poor excuse.  Its actually quite hard to keep up a schedule of once a week.

I did my first post back in September last year and was able to keep up a run of 43 consecutive weeks posting each Friday. 

 

Then I slipped up a couple of weekends ago and I was gutted.  In the end it doesn’t really matter but I am the sort of person when I start something it quickly becomes routine and I have to keep it going or I beat myself up about it

 

I follow a couple of YouTube vloggers who do daily uploads.  Where do they get the time?  I guess they don’t have full time jobs and kids. YouTube is their job, but still it must be a big pressure to keep it up every day with thousands of followers eagerly awaiting your daily post.

 

I will keep going with my weekly blog and if I miss a week its no big deal.

 

Some good news from my CodeClan Cohort 7 this week.  21 out of 21 are now employed in the software development industry. And most in Scotland. The last of us to secure a software developer job was the other week. Woo hoo! Go Us! Unfortunately one was not kept on beyond a 6 month probation. I'm not sure of the details but it's a real shame and I imagine it is more to do with the company than the graduate. Based on the 100% success rate they should get something else soon.

 

I happened to be in Edinburgh last week and popped in to see how things were in CodeClan. A few cohorts have passed through since I was last there. It was project week for some so it was busy with students working on their projects. It was great to catch-up with the folk and particularly one of my fellow graduates who has gone on to be an instructor there. He never got to leave.

I had been asked previously by CodeClan if they could compile my 16 weeks of blogs while there into a PDF book.

 

Of course was my response and they had been working on it with my pictures and all. I got a first look and was amazed to find it has over 80 pages. It should be available via the CodeClan website soon. I'm quite excited to see it go live. I have never actually gone back and read through what I produced last year. Hopefully the spelling and bad grammar have been fixed. I will add a link here later.

 

It must be time for the Oil exhibition as I can see the tents erected round the AECC next to my park and ride in bridge of don on my commute into the city. Will I get a ticket and go? Probably I usually do. But this year it will be the first year I am completely removed from the industry.

 

Thanks

Adrian